Ballon dOr 2015 Lionel Messi!

Posted on January 12, 2016 by - Breaking News

Ballon dOr 2015 Lionel Messi! As predicted by the bookies it was the Argentine who claimed the award reports football betting tips site FC Bodog.

Stats reveal that the 28-year-old Barcelona man received 41.33% of the vote. Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo got 27.76% to come second and Messi’s Barcelona team mate Neymar was third with 7.86% of the vote.

Going into the ceremony in Zurich Messi was a 1.10 chance with rival Ronaldo trading at 11.00 and Neymar a 21.00 chance.

It is one of football’s great debates as to who is the better player between Messi and Ronalso but the Argentine’s trophy laden year that included winning La Liga, the Copa del Rey and the Champions League with Barcelona is what swung things hugely in his favour.

It is the fifth time that Messi has won the award – Ronaldo has won it three times.

Read our Ballon dOr odds 2015 story here.

In 2015 Messi’s 61 games yielded 52 goals and 26 assists. That translates as a goal every 101 minutes and an assist every 202 minutes.

Ronaldo, now 30, netted 57 goals in 57 matches in 2015 that included a record 16 in the Champions League.

Ballon dOr 2015 Lionel Messi – visit online sportsbook to bet on leagues from across the world.

Brazilian Neymar bagged 45 goals in 62 games and is currently joint top scorer in this season’s La Liga with 15, level with team-mate Luis Suarez.

Said Messi: “It’s a very special moment for me to be back here on this stage, winning again another Ballon d’Or after seeing Cristiano win it. It’s incredible that it’s my fifth, much more than anything I would have dreamed of as a kid.”

The bookies have already opened for business on the 2016 Ballon d’Or and it’s that man Messi who again leads the betting at the more backable price of 2.25.

Ronaldo – who’s best years may be behind him – is trading at 4.00 with Neymar a 7.00 chance.

After those three there’s a big jump to 21.00 – a price where Gareth Bale, Luis Suarez and Thomas Muller can all be taken.

The Ballon d’Or is voted by almost 500 national team captains, coaches and media representatives and is entirely politically motivated.

The voting system is transparent and it is possible to see exactly who votes for who. For instance only two Welshmen were eligible to vote  – national team coach Chris Coleman and his captain Ashley Williams.

Who did they vote for? Yes, you’ve guessed it Gareth Bale. Bale received only 0.65% of the vote throughout.

Ballon d’Or winners

2014: Cristiano Ronaldo

2008: Cristiano Ronaldo

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo

2007: Kaka

2012: Lionel Messi

2006: Fabio Cannavaro

2011: Lionel Messi

2005: Ronaldinho

2010: Lionel Messi

2004: Andriy Shevchenko

2009: Lionel Messi

2003: Pavel Nedved

Ballon dOr 2015 Lionel Messi – visit online sportsbook to bet on leagues from across the world.

Related Post