Fifa Club World Cup Final Report

Posted on December 22, 2015 by - Club World Cup

Barcelona met the expectations in Japan and won the FIFA Club World Cup title for the third time in their history, after beating River Plate 3-0 in the final played at the International Stadium Yokohama.

In the Fifa Club World Cup Final Report, Los Blaugranas defeated the South American squad with two goals from Uruguayan striker Luis Suarez and one from Argentine Lionel Messi. It was the second official match of La “Pulga” versus and Argentine side in his career, and he has won both.

The team led by Luis Enrique got the title for first time since 2011 when they defeated Santos 4-0. They got the trophy for the first time six years ago after they have to come from behind to beat Estudiantes de la Plata by 2-1 in extra time thanks to a goal from Lionel Messi.

Spain became the first country to win this tournament in consecutive editions since 2005 and 2006 when Brazilians Sao Paulo and Internacional did it. Last year, Real Madrid won the title by defeating San Lorenzo 2-0 in Morocco.

River Plate didn’t have a chance to fight with the European Champions, and they fell short of becoming the first Argentine side to win this competition. Los Millonarios are the fourth team to fell in the final, joining Boca Juniors, Estudiantes and San Lorenzo. The last time a South American team won it was in 2012 when Corinthians surprised 1-0 against Chelsea.

Barcelona, who were listed at online sportsbook Bodog with 1.14 Odds to lift the Cup, won their fifth title of the 2015 and proved that they are currently the best team in the world.

Their first title of the year was La Liga, which they won with 94 points, two more than Real Madrid. They secured the local tournament on May 17th with a 1-0 victory against Atletico Madrid at Camp Nou. It was their 23rd Spanish League championship in their history.

Their second success was the 2015 Copa del Rey, achieved on May 30. Los Blaugranas won 3-1 at Camp Nou against Athletic Bilbao with two goals from Lionel Messi and one from Neymar. They extended their lead as the team with most titles in this competition with 27.

The third title of the year was the most important. On June 6 they defeated Juventus 3-1 in Berlin to win the trophy, with goals from Ivan Rakitic, Luis Suarez and Neymar. The Catalans won the UCL the fifth time in their history.

They struggled to get their fourth title in the UEFA Super Cup as they beat Sevilla 5-4 in an exciting game in extra time with a score from Pedro. The Dinamo Arena in Georgia saw Los Blaugranas won the trophy for the fifth time in their history and tied Milan as the team with the most obtained by any squad.

Athletic Bilbao was the team that avoided a perfect year for them, as they were thrashed in the Spanish Super Cup by an aggregate score of 5-1.

Barcelona are the current leader in the Spanish League with 35 points, tied to Atletico Madrid, but with one game in hand. They will finish the year against Real Betis at home, and they could begin 2016 with a streak of 17 straight games with no defeat.

Related Post